Something really strange happened last night. I will try to explain:

I recently acquired the film Soapdish, which I have on my computer just in case Sam and Wrall and I want to watch it. Before you hate, remember that Robert Downey Jr., Kevin Kline, Sally Fields, Elisabeth Shue, Whoopi Goldberg and other star in this film. It’s ridiculous, to be sure, but quite memorable. You know what I mean if you’ve seen it.

This film is one of Wrall’s most favoritest. Of all time, even. He’s seen it many many many times. It’s so important to his daily life that I have a plan for us to watch and “review” the film sometime, sort of in the same way that I “review” records in this space from time to time. That will come later, I hope. For now, I need to tell you about last night.

We were up really late, and things had degenerated. I was no longer on task, Sam had adjourned to prepared the bread dough for tonight’s dinner, and Wrall was doing God knows what. I put on Soapdish with the hope that I could find the scene when Kevin Kline’s character says, “I’ll take my one man hamlet to Canada!”* 

*Actually, he leaves out the “one man” part in that part of the movie. Earlier, though, we learn that his plan for Hamlet is for it to be a one-man show, because all of the characters happen in Hamlet’s head anyway. If I had left this part out of the quote, though, it would not seem nearly as funny as it actually is.

I didn’t find that part of the movie right away, and ended up jumping around to a bunch of different parts. Each time I started the film, Wrall picked up with the actors and started saying their lines along with them–perfectly. I did this a couple dozen times and there were only a couple that he didn’t absolutely nail. I should add, too, that for most of these instances, he couldn’t even see the film, only hear the background sound and little bit of audio lead-in.

It was incredible. It was unrehearsed. It was after two o’clock in the morning. And he was, let’s say, a little tipsy. There are films I’ve seen a lot of times. I can anticipate the dialogue to some degree, sometimes speak in time with the characters. I’ve heard other do this as well. We’ll be watching a film, and suddenly, at an important moment, they will say a line with the character. I marvel at their memory skills. Wrall took it to a whole new level, though. He was speaking along with generic dialogue, even though he couldn’t see the screen!

This morning, in discussion, he admits that it may have been a fluke. He’s not sure how he did it, but one thing is for sure: the film has been elevated for me. If the dialogue is truly that memorable, I’ll have to give it my full attention some time. That’s just how it is.

soapdish

