img_27471

On New Year’s Eve, Sam played at The Rub with Certified Max. While setting up for the show, the guy in the above photo walked up to him and said, “Hey, you’re Sammy Bananas, right?” 

“Yeah.”

“Well, I live in San Francisco. Recently, I was at a concert and somebody came up to me and said ‘Hey, you’re Sammy Bananas! Wait a minute, you’re not Sammy Bananas!’ And I looked you up and realized that you look like me. My good friend from San Fran. is working the bar tonight and once I got here, I realized that you were playing this show, so I looked for you to say ‘hi’.”

I recognize that he may not have said the entire thing in one sentence like that. That’s how I heard the story, though. And that’s how I will tell the story. It wouldn’t suprise me if it did go down like this, though, as I am as likely as anyone of spitting out a story in that kind of rapid-fire manner. I didn’t catch the guy’s name, though I’m sure Sam did. But thanks guy who looks like Sam. 

Oh yeah, they were even wearing the same sweatshirt. Hot diggity dog.

