img_0193

We’re working on a bunch of new songs at the moment. That’s always the case, really, but never before have I had the gumption to let you all in on the process. The other day, I gave you a video of Sammy Bananas working out some production for “When to Say When” (Working Title). Today, you have the original lyric sketch for a song that’s a bit farther along: “(Gimme That) Welcome Back”. 

I originally came up with the above concept in 2001. I awoke one morning, late for class, after having the most vivid dream: A man in a green suit, wearing a yellow beret, was standing on the roof of my childhood home,* serenading someone with a song. I heard the whole thing: lyrics, melody, harmony. There was a chorus, a verse, all kinds of things!

*Our original band, Jive Sucka!, recorded a music video on that roof many moons ago. What I wouldn’t give to have a copy of that right about now…

Well, I was late for class, you see, and I had no time, so I grabbed my books and my sketchbook and starting jogging toward class. The song seemed pretty memorable, but I didn’t want to take any chances, so I drew some quick staves on the paper and wrote in the melody with some lyrics. There is a bridge, and some backup vocals sketched out below what you see in the photo, and the verse lyrics are on another page. I didn’t include those because they aren’t likely to reappear anytime soon.

A couple of years ago, I shared the song with Wrall and he immediately wanted to record it for this new project he had with (then) P.Nice called Miss Fairchild. I said sure, but for whatever reason we never ended up doing it.* Then, a few weeks ago, Wrall sang me a verse idea that he had been kicking around, with the comment, “I don’t know where to take it from there…”

I do: ‘Gimme tha-at welcome back…’ and so forth.” 

Needless to say, he was sold. The song is gold. And we hope to share it before it’s too old. Well, older than parts are already.

*We started a demo which I might share someday.

