It’s a good thing Miss Fairchild is an easy band name to remember, because as individuals we certainly don’t make it easy on you folks:

I have a last name for a first name, and a middle name acting as a last name, all replacing the first name I had in the band, which was given as a nickname by a friend that writes a blog under a pen name. Daddy Wrall has a first name masquerading as a last name given to him by kind with a lisp named Tony. He has a first name that isn’t a name at all, given to him by a guy that changed his given name to his stage name, before reverting back to said given name after his he released his first record (which was named after his actual name). Daddy Wrall is a replacement for a different name where his first name was his first name, and his last name wasn’t a name either, but more of a description. Sammy Bananas has gone through a number of name changes, where the emphasis in his stage name has moved from his given last name to a combination of his given and chosen first and last names and finally to a name that uses his first name and adds the last name of his other group, Certified somethingorother. Trick Johnson uses a first name that’s really a nickname, derived from his middle name; at least his last name remains in tact. And Todd “The Rocket” Richard got his name from another man named Richard, except he was Maurice. In fact, Todd’s father, the good Reverend, spearheaded a move for the Richards to pronounce their name correctly (emphasis on hard), even though some of his 22 brothers and sisters opted for another pronunciation (emphasis on rich) and some even added an ‘s’ to the name.

Got all that?

No? Okay, I’ll start breaking it down, then.

My name is Schuyler Dunlap. Schuyler is a name given to me by my parents. It comes from the Dutch and translates as “sheltering” (more or less). As near as I can tell, the name came to this country as a surname in the 17th and 18th centuries, and wasn’t pronounced like I pronounce it all (that’s sky-ler for those of you who are still confused by the opening paragraph). It became a first name at some point, and the pronunciation was Anglicized over the years (though in which order I do not know), and some have even adopted the simpler, more modern spelling Skyler. I have not known any other Schuylers in my life, though I have met a few. I think I could even get away with just going as Schuyler onstage, skipping the Dunlap if I wanted. I mean, there aren’t that many of us. Why not?

dunlapcoatofarms1Well, the Dunlap is also from my parents. They gave me that one from my Grandmother. I believe it was her father’s last name. Only when that blog-writing friend that I mentioned above called me “The Great Dunlap,” with it’s inherent emphasis on the -lap did I consider using that in my stage name. And it stuck, Wrall dug it and that’s what I was named, on Miss Fairchild’s first record, and a few other releases. It felt a little grandiose, so I began to lose confidence in the name. But you’re larger than life, the name’s proponents would argue. And though flattery is, well, flattering, I just couldn’t see it sticking. Wrall will sneak in the occasional reference during gigs, but I’ll let you folks decide how great things are.

Wrall has been Wrall for a loooooooong time. Every since his friend Tony couldn’t pronounce Travis, the name that the good Reverend gave him, people have been calling him Wrall. The spelling, however, is all his own. It’s acronym, see. We discovered that while recording OLLSS back in ’06 or so. Wander Righteously And Love Life, just as his Daddy always taught him. It has served him well.

As for Mr. Bananas, you’ll have to check out his myspace if you want to know about all that. The man is certified, after all.

“Trick” Johnson has many tricks up his sleeve, and you’ll have to see just why he won’t use his first name for yourself at a show.

the rocketTodd The Rocket, well, he’s a handful behind the drumkit, much like Maurice was on ice skates. And the whole Richard vs. Richard thing? (Man that’s hard to write without looking stupid. Pronounce the second one as though you are French. There. That’s better.) Well, that’s for another time. You’ll know the Richard’s when you see them, doesn’t matter if they’ve changed the pronunciation or spelling. They’re pretty easy to spot.

I also won’t hold it against him that he’s name after a Canadien and I like the Bruins.

