I’m not entirely clear why we aren’t talking about this more. I mean, it has been talked about, but why aren’t we talking about it right now?

It definitely reminds me a little of this:

I took a class on Sun Ra in college, taught by Anthony Braxton. He is incredibly interesting, especially his manipulations of language and linguistics. Okay, that video was just him talking. Here’s some music:

The difference is two-fold, I suppose. Musically, Ms. Monae makes much more accessible music.* Also, though, I’d wager we’re a little more prepared to listen to her story, fantastical though it may be, because of our fascination with all things fantastic.

*Tell me you weren’t singing along with the 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12 melody from the top.

Anyhow, I’m interested. I’ll get to checking this out and let y’all know what I think. Meanwhile, let me know what you think.

