Man, I’m a little frustrated. I mean, I’m not entirely an idiot. Some people would even consider me relatively intelligent, but I find myself struggling with technology an awful lot. Well, maybe it’s more than that even. Maybe it’s a case of modern vs. traditional modes of thinking or something. This is totally off the top of my head now, so don’t hold me to any of these thoughts, but here goes…

Miss Fairchild works because we have complementary skill sets. Sammy B. has a talent for problem-solving and intuiting technology. This extends beyond technology, even, as evidenced by his knack for making really relevant music. He knows what works, and this has less to do with having a finger on the world’s pulse than being able to understood what all these various phenomena mean. 

This talent is something that I don’t relate to quite so much. Though I like “Single Ladies” just fine, I don’t know that I would be able to predict it. I think Mr. Bananas could. He seems to apply this mode of thinking to computers, intuiting how they should work, and using them in that way. When we want something to sound a certain way, he can call to mind the various processes to get that sound very quickly, making it all seem like something he’s done a trillion times* even if he’s never done it before.

*Okay: totally irrelevant thought here. That link is for a blog about a college hoops benchwarmer named Mark Titus. Club Trillionaire refers to players that play a single minute and have zero statistical impact on them game, giving them a stat line in the box score that looks like this 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0. I doubt the actual number of zeroes would result in a trillion, but I have to say, I love the idea.

My talents occur more traditionally. I question ideas that don’t jive with expected harmonic, rhythmic and melodic concepts. I find the harmonies and arrangements that Messieurs Wrall and Bananas hear and express them in tangible music quickly. I can usually translate ideas like “plucky” and “soaring” and “corny” and “unlistenable” into music… Whoops, that’s not precisely what I was going for, but you get the idea.

img_00833Daddy Wrall brings a singlemindedness and determination to music-making that is just admirable. He knows what he wants and it’s something close to perfection oftentimes. He has a great ear and a huge music library in between his ears.

Interestingly, the three of us are entirely capable of doing the things that other does. But he does it so well, is why we let the other one do that thing. You’d think that our talents in each other’s fields would erode with this set up, but I find myself learning as much as anything.

So, since I never really gave thanks for anything specific in that Thanksgiving post, here you go: I am damn thankful for Daddy Wrall and Sammy Bananas. They make my job soooo much easier.

What was this post about, again? Oh yeah, technology. Point is, I’m having a helluva time getting this video of us recording synthesizers for the newest music off my video device and onto the computer. It’s not as simple as plug and play, a fact that I never expected to give me so much trouble…

I’ll get it up here soon. I swear.

